polylines and snaps

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Paul W
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:58 am

polylines and snaps

Post by Paul W » Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:54 am

Anyone have any suggestions why polylines are so hard to join in 2005 ?
examples:
-try to join a polyline to a polyline using the grips and snaps, the snaps don't snap top the end of the polyline that you are tring to snap to.
(zoom in real close and see the two ends)
-try to join a polyline that is on a point to another polyline then try to join them
I know that they will work on Glen's computer, I would like to hear if other users have this problem

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:37 am

I have no problem joining polylines.

I think your problem is not joining but Snapping to the End of the polyline.

Try this, when you can't see the Snap highlight the end of the polyline.

Use your Wheel on your mouse and move just out and in a little.

You will now see it Highlight the end of the polyline Snap.

Paul W
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:58 am

Post by Paul W » Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:03 pm

Thanks for the tip
I think that the developers still need to work a bit on the polylines

Kevin B.
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:10 am
Location: Damariscotta, Maine

Post by Kevin B. » Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:14 am

Paul W.

I too have some problems joing polylines just as you have described it. I have exploded the polylines then joined the whole thing and that has worked. I do feel that there is a little problem as you describe.
Kevin B.

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:11 am

May of found your problem.

List your Polyline. What type is it.

I use LWpolyline.

I found some time ago that there was a snap problem with polyline type.

I had been using LWpolylines all along with no problems. Then one day
I had snap problems with polylines.

I listed it and found it had changed to just a polyline.

Type PLINETYPE then 1 to get LWpolylines.

One other thing to check for is LIMITS make sure they are OFF, this also
can cause SNAP problems.

Hope this helps

Paul W
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:58 am

poly lines fix

Post by Paul W » Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:33 pm

hey it worked
Thanks for your help and your time
Next time I'm over to your way I will buy you a Beer :)

Kevin B.
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:10 am
Location: Damariscotta, Maine

Post by Kevin B. » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:51 am

CHANGING THE PLINE TYPE TO 1 WORKS GREAT! IT ALSO WORKS FOR KEEPING THE CONTINUOUS LINETYPE INTEGRETY WHEN USING AN OLD DRAWING USING AUTOCAD RELEASE 12. THANKS FOR THE INFO!

Post Reply